Congressman Pete Olson

Representing the 22nd District of Texas

Olson Congratulates International Space Program for Winning Collier Trophy

March 4, 2010
Press Release

Rep. Pete Olson today issued the following statement of congratulations to the International Space Station Program for winning the National Aeronautic Association’s prestigious Collier Trophy.  This award is given annually to recognize the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America.

“I believe the International Space Station is a worthy recipient of this award every year, but particularly in 2009 as full crew capability was achieved.  A full complement of crew enables the International Space Station to perform scientific experiments while maintaining and completing assembly of this national lab. The ISS, which orbits above us this very moment and has been manned continuously since 2000.  It represents so much of what we can achieve in engineering, in science, and in diplomacy when we put our skill and resources to it.”

*Note: Olson sent a letter of support for ISS to the National Aeronautic Association earlier this year.

From the NASA press release:  The International Space Station is a joint project of five space agencies and 15 countries that is nearing completion and will mark the 10th anniversary of a continuous human presence in orbit later this year. The largest and most complicated spacecraft ever built, the space station is an international, technological and political achievement that represents the latest step in humankind’s quest to explore and live in space.

The award will be formally presented to the International Space Station Program team on May 13. The award is named for Robert J. Collier, a publisher who commissioned it in 1910 with the intent to encourage the U.S. aviation community to strive for excellence and achievement in aeronautic development. Past winners include the B-52 Program, the Surveyor Moon Landing Program, the Boeing 747 and the F-22.  Other past honorees include the crews of Apollo 11 and Apollo 8, the Mercury 7.


Contact: Melissa Kelly