Congressman Pete Olson

Representing the 22nd District of Texas

Olson Congratulates Memorial Hermann Sugar Land on Receiving Malcom Baldrige Award

November 18, 2016
Press Release

Washington, DC – Rep. Pete Olson (TX-22) today extended congratulations to Memorial Hermann Sugar Land Hospital for receiving the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. This prestigious award is given by the US Department of Commerce through the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). It is the nation’s highest Presidential honor for sustainable excellence through visionary leadership, organizational alignment, systemic improvement and innovation.

“As a Sugar Land resident, I’ve always known what exceptional care Memorial Hermann Sugar Land provides and now the nation knows as well,” Rep. Olson said. “Their ability to recruit and retain exceptional doctors and nurses is directly reflected in the quality of care they provide to their patients. This level of care has been achieved through their overall commitment to best practices in preventing medical errors. Congratulations to Memorial Hermann Sugar Land for receiving this award. We all benefit from your quality healthcare and applaud your continued excellence.”

Memorial Hermann Sugar Land Hospital ranks among the top 10 percent nationally for a number of performance metrics, including emergency center arrival-to-discharge time, compliance with regulations to reduce medication errors, bed turnaround times, radiology and laboratory result turnaround times, and the use of computerized physician order entry.

NIST manages the Baldrige Award in cooperation with the private sector. An independent board of examiners recommended this year’s Baldrige Award recipients from a field of 34 applicants after evaluating them in seven areas defined by the Baldrige Excellence Framework: leadership; strategy; customers; measurement, analysis and knowledge management; workforce; operations; and results. An organization may compete for the award in one of six categories: manufacturing, service, small business, health care, education and nonprofit (including government agencies).

Media Contact: Melissa Kelly