Congressman Pete Olson

Representing the 22nd District of Texas


November 26, 2014
Press Release

Washington, DC – Congressman Pete Olson (R-TX) today admonished the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) for proposing a new National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) for ozone dramatically lower than the current standard of 75 parts per billion (ppb). These levels are so low that most of America - including most of our national parks - will be “too dirty” for EPA’s mandate given that up to 70 percent of ozone in some parts of the country comes from either natural or foreign sources.

Olson urges support for his bipartisan bill, H.R. 5505, the Clean Air, Strong Economies (CASE) Act, which would update the Clean Air Act to allow EPA to consider economic and feasibility costs when issuing rules, something they are currently not allowed to do. It would bring the proper balance to improving air quality, while doing so with achievable technology and ensuring the process does the least harm to our economy.

"America has made important gains in air quality over the last 30 years and we should continue to do more," Rep. Olson said. "But EPA’s continued efforts to drive the mandate lower and lower will put wide swaths of the country out of compliance. This mandate will cost our economy billions or even trillions of dollars, and it's unclear whether it is technologically achievable. That's why I will continue to urge support for my legislation to bring common sense to this process."

In a letter of support for the CASE Act, the U.S. Chamber of Commerce stated that, "This legislation would improve the rulemaking process involved with the Environmental Protection Agency’s review and setting of National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for ground level ozone by requiring better scientific data, more transparency, and considerations of feasibility and economic impact."

Cosponsors of the CASE Act include: Reps. Henry Cuellar - TX, John Shimkus - IL, Randy Weber - TX, Bill Cassidy- LA, Bill Flores - TX, Lamar Smith - TX, Ralph Hall - TX, Tom McClintock - CA, Randy Hultgren - IL, Scott Tipton - CO, David McKinley – WV, Jason Smith - MO, Walter Jones- NC, Kristi Noem- SD, Cynthia Lummis – WY, Mike Pompeo – KS, Gregg Harper- MS, Kevin Brady - TX, Billy Long - MO, Bill Johnson – OH, Mike Coffman- CO, Alan Nunnelee- MS, Thomas Massie R-KY and John Duncan R-TN.