Congressman Pete Olson

Representing the 22nd District of Texas


November 16, 2011
Press Release

Washington, DC– Rep. Pete Olson (R-Sugar Land) today joined in the Congressional Gold Medal Ceremony to honor astronauts John Glenn, Neil Armstrong, Michael Collins, and Buzz Aldrin. The Gold Medal represents Congress’s highest expression of national appreciation for distinguished achievements and contributions. Olson joined with House Speaker John Boehner (R-OH), other congressional leadership, and Members of Congress to congratulate the former astronauts on their important accomplishments.

"I'm proud to take part in honoring Senator Glenn, Mr. Armstrong, Brigadier General Collins, and Mr. Aldrin for their ground-breaking and inspiring achievements,” Olson stated. “These four great men made a tremendous impact on America’s history. They were pioneers and their dedication to human space flight and fearless pursuit of the unknown still inspires this nation. Their contributions to American exceptionalism cannot be underestimated. It's a privilege to congratulate them on earning the highest Congressional honor. These men are role models for future generations of explorers and scientists who will rise to the challenge and get America back in space.”

Congress approved the New Frontier Congressional Gold Medal Act in July 2009 to mark the 40th anniversary of the Apollo 11 landing. Sen. Glenn was the first American to orbit the Earth, achieving the feat onboard Friendship 7 on February 20, 1962.  On July 20, 1969, Mr. Armstrong and Mr. Aldrin became the first humans to set foot on the Moon, while General Collins piloted Apollo 11’s command module.  All four have received the NASA Distinguished Service Medal and the Presidential Medal of Freedom, awarded with distinction.  A complete list of Gold Medal recipients is available at


Media Contact: Melissa Kelly