Congressman Pete Olson

Representing the 22nd District of Texas


May 4, 2011
Press Release

Rep. Pete Olson (R-Sugar Land) is joining with House Majority Whip Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) and Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI) to announce the creation of the House Energy Action Team (HEAT).

HEAT will consist of a committed group of House members to promote Republican energy policies that will address rising energy prices, create thousands of good jobs and enhance our national security by promoting energy independence for America.  HEAT will clearly demonstrate that House Republicans are on the side of the small businesses and families who are increasingly harmed by record high energy prices.  

"Even at a time of rising gas prices and a weak economy, we can create jobs as well as a stable, reliable and affordable energy supply for America if the federal government gets out of the way," Rep. Olson said.  "Houston is the U.S. energy capital - we know what is needed to reduce our dependency on foreign energy and get hard working Americans back to work.  We need greater access to our domestic resources in order to increase our energy supply, put people to work and bring billions in revenue into the federal treasury."

“Traveling around my district during the district work period, my constituents overwhelmingly wanted to talk about the steadily increasing price of gas that is placing great strain on their families and small businesses,” Whip McCarthy said. “The restrictive policies of this Administration are bringing unnecessary pain at the pump and they are costing our nation jobs. The HEAT initiative will further highlight Republican energy proposals to expand domestic energy production. These proposals will help create American jobs, grow our economy, and enhance our security through greater energy independence.”

"House Republicans are hard at work through the American Energy Initiative crafting the common-sense solutions we need to create a more secure energy future. Today's high gas prices are squeezing family budgets and making it hard for our economy to bounce back. As we work to cut the red tape that is blocking energy production and finally harness our available resources with an all-of-the–above energy strategy, I'm pleased to have this team of talented members volunteer to take our message of job creation and energy security to the American people," said House Energy & Commerce Committee Chairman Upton.

The following Members will be participating in HEAT: Reps. Kevin McCarthy (R-CA), Peter Roskam (R-IL), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Mike Conaway (R-TX), Steve Scalise (R-LA), Greg Walden (R-OR), Rick Berg (R-ND), Jeff Denham (R-CA), Cory Gardner (R-CO), Doc Hastings (R-WA), Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA), Lynn Jenkins (R-KS), Devin Nunes (R-CA), Alan Nunnelee (R-MS), Pete Olson (R-TX), Ben Quayle (R-AZ), Martha Roby (R-AL), Phil Roe (R-TN), Steve Womack (R-AR), Jeff Duncan (R-SC), Jason Chaffetz (R-UT), Bill Flores (R-TX), Virginia Foxx (R-NC), John Shimkus (R-IL), Fred Upton (R-MI), Bill Johnson (R-OH) and Mike Pompeo (R-KS).


Media Contact: Melissa Kelly, 202-225-5951