Congressman Pete Olson

Representing the 22nd District of Texas

Texas Republicans Introduce Legislation to Repeal Doggett Education Language That Discriminates Against Texas

September 15, 2010
Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC– Rep. Pete Olson and members of the Texas Republican Congressional delegation, led by Rep. Michael C. Burgess (R-Lewisville), today introduced legislation to repeal language in last month’s education funding bill that may cost many Texas school districts million in education funding.  The provision discriminates against only the state of Texas, and does not apply to any other state in the union.

“Washington has no business imposing a mandate targeted only on the state of Texas as a condition of federal funds,” Olson said.  “Aside from the constitutional concerns, Texas knows best how to meet the needs of our schools.  I will continue to oppose this federal extortion scheme”

The legislation also imposes a new formula on how Texas allocates the $830 million in additional funds that would come to the state.  The formula heavily favors urban districts over suburban districts.  A study by the Texas Education Agency determined that 8 school districts in the 22nd Congressional District will lose a total of $18,048,152 in funds they would normally be eligible to receive under the traditional Weighted Average Daily Attendance state funding formula. 

On August 6, 2010, all 22 Republican members of the Texas Congressional delegation, including Sens. Kay Bailey Hutchison and John Cornyn, wrote to House Speaker Nancy Pelosi urging her to strike the Doggett language.  The lawmakers wrote, “…this amendment singles out only the State of Texas…and no other state in the nation is subject to these additional requirements…the House language only punishes Texas students and teachers.”   Unfortunately the language was not stripped, and consequently, on September 9, 2010, Texas’ application for the $830 million in education funding was denied by the U.S. Department of Education. 

Texas Republicans joining Burgess in introducing the legislation are:

Congressman Joe Barton

Congressman Kevin Brady

Congressman John Carter

Congressman Michael Conaway

Congressman John Culberson

Congressman Louie Gohmert

Congresswoman Kay Granger

Congressman Ralph Hall

Congressman Jeb Hensarling

Congressman Michael McCaul

Congressman Randy Naugebauer

Congressman Pete Olson

Congressman Ron Paul

Congressman Ted Poe

Congressman Pete Sessions

Congressman Lamar Smith

Congressman Mac Thornberry

Senators Hutchison and Cornyn introduced the Senate version to repeal Doggett’s language, S. 3768, yesterday in the Senate.  The House bill is H.R. 6108.


Media Contact - Melissa K. Kelly 202-225-5951